SABASATARIV ISLAND: HAZE IN THE DAVAO GULF

Photo0154rogerb

BY ROGER M. BALANZA

For more than a week now, my early morning ritual had been without the rising sun with its shaft of light dramatically racing west to wake up Mt. Apo. Into an awesome towering beauty.

The haze from the Indon forest fires came to blur the Davao Gulf with ash and smoke and stole these luxuries away.

As in mornings the past days, the Gulf this morning was a pitiful sight of gray.

There was no sun rising.

In the west, there is no Mt. Apo basking in the glory of another day.

Across my island, Punta Dumalag is like a dead body floating at sea enveloped by a cloak of ghoulish gray; Samal Island and Talikud Island have disappeared.

I rowed my boat about 500 feet from my Sabasatariv Island with my camera and took a shot of the scene that tore my heart.

There is no Mt. Apo and Mt. Talomo with its façade of green forests cascading down to Toril and Talomo and the shorelines of the Davao Gulf.

My island at the mouth of Talomo River has become a dark gray dot in a wall of gray.

 

2 thoughts on “SABASATARIV ISLAND: HAZE IN THE DAVAO GULF

Leave a Reply

